Waiting is the hardest thing

Wait – “Used to indicate that one is eagerly impatient to do something or for something to happen.”

I feel so helpless because all I can do is wait. Wait for things to happen outside of my control. Wait for the inspection period to end on the house I’m selling in Florida. Wait for the inspections to be completed on the house I’m buying in Virginia.  Wait for closings. Wait for time to move. Wait for new job to start. Wait.

Its ironic really. For me, the advocate of a return to gentler times. Who idealizes the past. Who espouses the virtues of times gone by and bemoans the fast paced technology of today. Right? I mean, let’s think about the concept of waiting in the past.

it could take weeks for a simple transaction to be completed. No emails. No internet. No phones even. No immediate answers available. Type a contract. Put it in the mail. Let’s assume the mail even arrives safely and doesn’t get lost on the trip. The stagecoach doesn’t wreck, get robbed, the driver doesn’t get sick or get attacked on the trail and important papers get lost forever. Think about the woman or mother waiting to hear from her loved one away at war. Again, weeks, months, even years could go by with no word. All she can do is wait.

And I get it. I do. I fully recognize the conundrum of being so reliant on the very technology I claim to despise. Although in this situation, technology can only help so much.  Yes, reports can be assembled much easier on a computer and emailed in seconds  but that doesn’t alleviate contractual waiting periods.  That doesn’t mean we move forward any faster.

I get it. I am at the mercy of time. And time can be a hard master. I get that I am not in control here.  I get it. But it doesn’t make the wait it any easier.

Leave a Reply

